Thrilling Showdown: India Women Dominate Day 1 against Australia Women in One-off Test

Photo of author


 India Women Dominate Day 1 against Australia Women in One-off Test" 

Welcome to the gripping encounter between India Women and Australia Women in the one-off Test match! The action-packed Day 1 unfolded with India Women putting up an impressive bowling display, dismissing Australia Women for 219. Let’s dive into the exciting moments that shaped the day.

Australia Women’s Early Struggles and Remarkable Recovery:
In a thrilling start, India Women capitalized on an early mix-up between Beth Mooney and Phoebe Litchfield, claiming the wicket of Litchfield for a duck. Pooja Vastrakar continued her excellent form, sending the dangerous Ellyse Perry (4) packing in her first over. Despite the initial setbacks, Tahlia McGrath and Beth Mooney orchestrated an impressive partnership, contributing 80 runs. McGrath’s swift half-century and Mooney’s resilience were the highlights of Australia Women’s recovery.

India Women’s Bowling Brilliance:
Pooja Vastrakar emerged as the bowling star for India Women, claiming a crucial 4-wicket haul. Her well-timed wickets, including the dismissal of Beth Mooney for 40, showcased India’s dominance with the ball. Sneh Rana and Rajeshwari Gayakwad also contributed to keeping the pressure on Australia Women, chipping away at their batting lineup.

Dramatic Moments and Missed Opportunities:
The match witnessed its fair share of drama, with Deepti Sharma missing a crucial catch off Tahlia McGrath and India opting not to review an LBW appeal against Beth Mooney. The decision, eventually revealed as a missed opportunity, added to the intensity of the game.

Noteworthy Debuts:
Adding to the excitement, wicketkeeper-batter Richa Ghosh received her maiden Test cap for India, while left-arm pacer Lauren Cheatle made her Test debut for Australia.

India XI: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Richa Ghosh, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Renuka Singh.

Australia XI: Alyssa Healy (c/wk), Beth Mooney, Phoebe Litchfield, Ellyse Perry, Tahlia McGrath, Annabel Sutherland, Ashleigh Gardner, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Kim Garth, Lauren Cheatle.

As the battle between the cricketing giants continues, stay tuned for more thrilling updates in the clash between Australia Women and India Women! 🏏🌟

Click for latest news:

Leave a comment